The TOaG Quartet: Album Release Party

The TOaG Quartet: Album Release Party


"The TOaG Quartet: Live at the Airship" is an 84-minute double album of all original music, recorded live in front of an audience at the premiere Airship Laboratories recording studio. Sparking the mind with truth, and moving the spirit with groove, our collective is one part working band and one part teaching ensemble.

Join us for an evening of celebration, groove, and truth as we showcase music from this album with 2 sets from the quartet - with Ricky Carter on Drums, DV Wright on guitar and live effects, Eli Maliwan on Tenor and Alto Sax, and Benjamin Lee on Upright Bass, Electric Bass and sampler - and feature the some of the students from our TOaG Jazz Clinic Program in partnership with Oakland High School. These young musicians are an an inspiration to us all, and we are so excited to have them share some of their music with all you beautiful people!

Food for purchase from the delicious Sakura Bistro!
Adult and non/adult drink offerings!
Cheap Underground Parking!
2 Blocks from 12st./City Center BART Station!

"As an assembly of instrumentalists, the TOaG Quartet is an Oakland-based musical organization inspired by the many lineages of improvisation and groove. Striving to be honest to who we are, where we have been, and where we hope to go, we pay homage to the work of our elders - who laid the groundwork upon which we stand - while aspiring to spark the mind with truth, and move the spirit with groove. Alongside the tireless service of community music educators, TOaG also works to support arts education by curating jazz clinics for young students, creating a positive space for musical exchange between professionals and pupils."

Event Info

  • Dates: July 25, 2019
  • Location: Oakland Asian Cultural Center
  • Address: 388 Ninth St., Suite 290, Oakland, CA 94607
  • Time: 7:30 AM to 10:30 AM
  • Price: $15 for OUSD students and educators, $20 General Admission
Back To Top